project

falkensteiner hotel schladming

Hohensinn Architektur won the invited competition in summer 2010 to design a four star superior hotel, presenting a concept that took both the specific topographic conditions and scale of the heterogeneously built environment into account.
Until recently home to the region’s largest event centre, the Dachstein-Tauern-Halle, the site in question is located in direct vicinity of the newly erected “Congress Schladming” that is situated somewhat higher. Various other differently sized accommodation facilities and single-family houses form the rest of the neighbourhood.
In response to this rather challenging urban developmental situation, three wings, each designed to address the height of the neighbouring buildings, were erected. Due to the Y-shaped ground plan of the wings, no more than two structures are discernible at the same time from the outside, and only one is visible from the guestrooms. Moreover, high-quality external and intermediate spaces that harmonise well with their surroundings emerged as a result. In that context then, embedding the “basement floor” into well-established terrain and with direct relations to the garden complex of the hotel played just as important a role as positioning the entrance area and floor on the same level as “Congress Schladming”. Nevertheless, in order to create an atmosphere that would still correspond to that of a ground floor, besides the driveway, additional terrain was also filled up to level of the entrance floor’s lower edge, thus offering a direct connection to the outside area.
Despite the fact that all three wings are linked to one another by means of a glazed atrium, which also provides vertical access, each one was still treated as an independent structure in order to establish clear formal principles – a statement that was underpinned, for instance, by consequently cladding all outer wall surfaces with a timber façade.
Functionally, the hotel is made up of an entrance floor comprising a lobby / reception area, restaurant and bar, including conference, seminar and administrative areas, and of a wellness and garden floor beneath containing a swimming pool, sauna, treatment and fitness rooms as well as a storage and staff area, and of four floors for guestrooms. The hotel emanates a feeling of airy lightness with its two generously glazed lower floors and circumferentially cantilevered four upper storeys.
While the structural core of the building consists of reinforced concrete dividers and floors, the outside layer with the loggias and the ceiling of the atrium that is visible from the inside are of plywood boarding. All windows, doors, floors and balustrades, as well as the interior views of the loggias and the façade are made of timber. Featuring vertical, glazed spruce cladding, partly fashioned to form lamella-like slats as a protective screen in front of the loggias, there is more to the exterior than meets the eye. This diversified façade not only helps to put the size of the hotel into perspective, establishing a link with its timber cladding to the neighbouring “Congress Schladming” and to the surrounding countryside and region as a whole, but its clear-cut design spells out the kind of ambition that is bound to leave an indelible mark on Schladming’s urban landscape.


data

adress: 8970 Schladming, Austria
client: HPEG Hotel Planungs- und Errichtungs GmbH Schladming
planning: Hohensinn Architektur
project manager Stefan Ohler
team: Raphael Gruber, Martin Baumann, Anita Huber, Ingomar Findenig,
Thomas Moser, Branko Savatovic, Mario Mayrl, Andreas Huemer, Dieter Saurugg
structural analysis Wendl ZT GmbH
building services TB Pechmann GmbH
construction physics Dr. Pfleiler GmbH
kitchen planning PlanQuadrat Ingenieurbüro
invited competition 2010 / 1.prize
usable floor space 9000m²
numbers of room 130
start of planning 11/2010
start of construction 04/2012
completion 12/2012

photos: paul ott / klaus vyhnalek

projekt

falkensteiner hotel schladming

Aus dem geladenen Wettbewerb für ein Vier-Sterne-Superior Hotel im Sommer 2010 war Hohensinn Architektur mit einem Konzept, das einerseits die spezifischen topografischen Verhältnisse und anderseits die Maßstäblichkeit der heterogen bebauten Umgebung berücksichtigt, als Sieger hervorgegangen.
Der Bauplatz, auf dem bis vor kurzem die Dachstein-Tauern-Halle als größtes Veranstaltungszentrum der Region stand, liegt in unmittelbarer Nähe vom neu errichteten, etwas höher gelegenen „Congress Schladming“. Die übrige Nachbarschaft besteht aus Beherbergungsbetrieben verschiedener Größe sowie Einfamilienhäusern.
Als Reaktion auf diese schwierige städtebauliche Situation wurden drei Trakte errichtet, deren jeweilige Modellierung auf die Höhe der Nachbarbauten reagiert. Durch den Y-Grundriss der Trakte sind von außen immer nur zwei, von den Gästezimmern aus lediglich ein Baukörper wahrnehmbar. Außerdem entstanden so qualitätsvolle Außen- und Zwischenräume, die in Dialog mit ihrer Umgebung treten. In diesem Zusammenhang spielte die Situierung des „Untergeschosses“ auf dem gewachsenen Terrain und mit direktem Bezug zu den Gartenanlagen des Hotels eine ebenso wesentliche Rolle wie die Positionierung des Eingangsgeschosses auf gleicher Höhe wie der „Congress Schladming“. Um dennoch eine Atmosphäre zu schaffen, die jener eines Erdgeschosses entspricht, gibt es, zusätzlich zur Vorfahrt, weitere Anschüttungen des Geländes, die bis zur Unterkante des Eingangsgeschosses reichen und damit eine direkte Verbindung zum Außenraum herstellen.
Obwohl die drei Trakte durch ein gläsernes Atrium, von dem aus die vertikale Erschließung erfolgt, miteinander verbunden sind, wurde jeder als eigenständiger Baukörper behandelt, um klare formale Grundlagen zu schaffen, was etwa an der konsequent um alle Außenwandflächen gezogenen Holzfassade ablesbar ist.
Funktional ist das Hotel in ein Eingangsgeschoss mit Lobby / Rezeption, Restaurant, Bar sowie Konferenz- bzw. Seminar- und Verwaltungsbereichen, das darunter liegende Wellness- bzw. Gartengeschoss mit Schwimmbad, Sauna, Behandlungs- und Fitnessräumen sowie einem Lager- und Personalbereich und in vier Obergeschosse für die Gästezimmer gegliedert. Leichtigkeit erhält der Hotelkomplex durch die großflächige Verglasung der beiden untersten Geschosse sowie durch die umlaufende Auskragung der vier Obergeschosse.
Während der konstruktive Kern des Bauwerks aus Stahlbetonschoten bzw. Betondecken besteht, wurde die außenliegende Schicht der Loggien, ebenso wie die von innen sichtbare Decke des Atriums, aus Brettsperrholz konstruiert. Aus Holz sind auch Fenster und Türen, Böden und Brüstungen, die Innenansichten der Loggien und die Fassade. Letztere, eine vertikale, lasierte Fichtenholzschalung, die teilweise lamellenartig als Blickschutz vor die Loggien gezogen wurde, vermag mehrerlei: Die Größe des Hotels wird durch die Differenziertheit der Fassade relativiert, das Holz stellt nicht nur einen Bezug zum benachbarten „Congress Schladming“, sondern auch zur Landschaft und zur Region an sich her und durch die Sachlichkeit seiner gestalterischen Ausformulierung wird ein urbaner Anspruch formuliert, welcher in der Stadt Schladming ein wichtiges Zeichen setzt. 

 

Daten

Standort: 8970 Schladming, Austria
Bauherr: Planai Hotel Errichtungs- und Betriebs GesmbH
Planung: Hohensinn Architektur
Projektleitung: Stefan Ohler
Team: Raphael Gruber, Martin Baumann, Anita Huber, Ingomar Findenig,
Thomas Moser, Branko Savatovic, Mario Mayrl, Andreas Huemer, Dieter Saurugg
Statik: Wendl ZT GmbH
HKLS: TB Pechmann GmbH
Bauphysik: Dr. Pfleiler GmbH
Gastroplanung: PlanQuadrat Ingenieurbüro
Geladener Wettbewerb: 2010 / 1.Preis
Nutzfläche: ca. 9.000m²
Zimmeranzahl: 130
Planungsbeginn: 11/2010
Baubeginn: 04/2012
Fertigstellung: 12/2012