project

austrian pavilion EXPO Milano 2015

breathe.austria
With its contribution for the 2015 Expo in Milan, Austria draws international attention to the number-one foodstuff and important resource: AIR. Air quality counts as one of Austria’s most important characteristics. By international comparison, it is very high and can be seen as a potential for identification with our country. Air, climate and atmosphere unite the whole earth. They are foodstuffs, carriers of information, energy producers, and resources. The Austrian contribution “breathe” therefore focuses on the country’s natural and technological expertise as well as on future issues regarding our handling of air and climate as essential foodstuffs the world over.

the pavilion 
„When you take a breath, you touch a part of the planet, with the inside of your body“ (Olafur Eliasson)

The Austrian pavilion in Milan combines buildings and the environment to create an integrated contribution: by planting an extensive area of forest of 560m2, the contribution “breathe” is a complex symbolic placement that can be experienced with the senses, with the focus on our relationship to the environment and the climate. The vegetation of the piece of woodland has a total leaf surface and evaporation surface of approximately 43,200m2, thus generating 62.5kg of fresh oxygen per hour – the volume required by 1800 people; a “photosynthesis collector”, then, that contributes to global oxygen production. This effect is  assisted technically in the pavilion by evaporation cooling, albeit without any air-conditioning equipment. In this way it is possible, with relatively natural measures, to emulate the perceived climate of a dense forest in Austria based on the cooling effect of the plants’ evapotranspiration. The result differs distinctly from the air and climate found in Milan at various sensory levels, and can thus be experienced.

“breathe” is a natural cycle whose ecological performance is to the fore: one hundred per cent forest planting is a model contribution for urban modes of action as the integral use of landscape can supply sufficient oxygen and cooling air to urban life-forms, thus drawing attention to Austria’s sustainable afforestation policy or, inversely, to the global decline of vital tree stocks. As such, it serves not only as a formal resource for the comprehensive leitmotif ‘Air and Climate in the 21st Century’, but also as a space for artistic and scientific intervention and experimentation on the subject. Encouraged by their senses, visitors to the Austrian pavilion  embark on a sensory, scientific and artistic voyage of discovery that depicts air as an essential foodstuff. Space, experience and the exhibition flow into one another. The six-month duration of the show allows visitors to experience air as a tangible commons, offering a space for networking that conveys and generates knowledge.

“Air for breathing is the most important raw material on earth” “Every breath connects me with the entire world” “Without air you wouldn’t survive five minutes”, “A person inhales thousands of cubic metres of air every year, emitting hundreds of kilogrammes of carbon dioxide” “The pavilion produces oxygen for 1800 people per hour” “The air from the pavilion will stay in my lungs for two years. I’ll have to go to Austria by then at the latest”


TEAM.BREATHE.AUSTRIA.
The interdisciplinary team.breathe.austria was founded by people teaching at the Department for Architecture and Landscape of Graz University of Technology.
In the teaching context, the authors deal with future processes and the consequences of real ecological, energetic and social changes of our environment. There will be challenges that need to be mastered, but the future scenario also gives us the unique opportunity to explore the scope of action with creativity, to develop a new, “cultural ecology”.

 

idea / conception – competition team

TEAM.BREATHE.AUSTRIA. (alphabetical order)
Agency in Biosphere  Markus Jeschaunig 
Hohensinn Architektur - Karlheinz Boiger 
LandLab /Ia&l TU Graz  - Andreas Goritschnig und Bernhard König
Lendlabor- Anna Resch und Lisa Maria Enzenhofer
terrain : landscape urbanism BDA - Klaus K. Loenhart
and
Maren Richter, Engelsmann Peters - Stefan Peters, transsolar - Wolfgang Kessling, BOKU IBLB Bernhard Scharf

design / realization
terrain : landscape urbanism BDA, Graz – Klaus K. Loenhart
in cooperation with
Agency in Biosphere, Graz – Markus Jeschaunig
Hohensinn Architektur, Graz – Karlheinz Boiger
TU Graz Institute for Architecture and Landscape/ LandLab – Andreas Goritschnig und Bernhard König
Lendlabor, Graz – Anna Resch und Lisa Maria Enzenhofer
and
Exhibition concept: Maren Richter, Linz (u.a. Co-Curator of the Malediven Pavillon/55. Venice Biennale 2013, Art director Regionale 12)
Climate engineering: Transsolar Energietechnik, München – Wolfgang Kessling (Donau University Krems)
Vegtation engineering: Dr. Bernhard Scharf, Wien (BOKU Institute of Soil Bioengineering and Landscape Construction /IBLB)
Structural design: Engelsmann Peters Beratende Ingenieure, Graz / Stuttgart
Stefan Peters (TU Graz – Institut für Tragwerksentwurf)

projekt

österreichischer pavillon EXPO2015

breathe.austria
Mit dem Expo 2015 Beitrag breathe rückt Österreich in Mailand das Nahrungsmittel No 1 und bedeutsame Ressource in das Zentrum der internationalen Aufmerksamkeit: LUFT. Luftqualität gilt als eine der bedeutendsten Merkmale Österreichs. Im internationalen Vergleich ist diese sehr hoch und lässt sich als Identifikationspotential für unser Landes verstehen. Luft, Klima und Atmosphäre verbinden zugleich die gesamte Erde. Sie sind Lebensmittel, Informationsträger, Energieproduzent und Ressource. Der Österreichische Beitrag breathe thematisiert deshalb die natürliche wie technische Kompetenz des Landes, als auch künftige Fragestellungen im Umgang mit dem weltweit notwendigen Lebensmittel Luft und Klima.

Der Pavillon
„When you take a breath, you touch a part of the planet, with the inside of your body“ (Olafur Eliasson)
Der Österreich Pavillon in Mailand verbindet Gebäude und Umwelt zu einem integralen Beitrag: Durch die großflächige Bepflanzung eines Waldstücks mit der Grundfläche von 560m2 setzt der Beitrag breathe ein vielschichtiges und zugleich sinnlich erlebbares Zeichen mit dem unsere Beziehung zu Umwelt und Klima im Fokus steht. Die Vegetation des Waldstücks besitzt eine gesamte Blattoberfläche bzw. Verdunstungsoberfläche von ca. 43.200m2 und erzeugt dabei 62,5 kg frischen Sauerstoff pro Stunde – dem Bedarf für 1800 Personen – ein „Photosynthesekollektor“ also, der zur weltweiten Sauerstoffproduktion beiträgt. Dieser Effekt wird im Pavillon durch Verdunstungskühlung – aber ohne Klimageräte – technisch unterstützt. So kann das gefühlte Klima eines dichten Waldes aus Österreich mit vergleichsweise natürlichen Maßnahmen nachgestellt werden, der auf den kühlende Effekt der Evapo-Transpiration der Pflanzen beruht. Das erzielte Ergebnis unterscheidet sich auf unterschiedlichen Sinnesebenen deutlich von der vorgefundenen Luft und Klima in Mailand und wird dadurch wahrnehmbar.

breathe ist ein natürlicher Kreislauf, deren ökologische Performanz im Zentrum steht: Die 100prozentige Waldbepflanzung ist ein modellhafter Beitrag für urbane Handlungsweisen, denn der integrale Einsatz von Landschaft kann urbane Lebensformen mit genügend Sauerstoff und kühlender Luft versorgen, wodurch wiederum auf Österreichs nachhaltige Aufforstungspolitik verwiesen werden kann oder in Umkehrung auf den weltweiten Rückgang von lebensnotwendigem Baumbestand. Sie dient somit einerseits als formaler Fundus für das umfassende Leitmotiv ‚Luft und Klima im 21.Jahrhundert’, anderseits als inhaltlicher Interventions- und Experimentalraum künstlerischer und wissenschaftlicher Arbeit. BesucherInnen des Österreich Pavillons gehen - durch ihre Sinne angeregt - auf eine sinnliche, wissenschaftliche und künstlerische Entdeckungsreise, die Luft als essentielles Nahrungsmittel darstellt. Raum. Erleben und Ausstellung fließen ineinander. Über die sechsmonatige Ausstellungszeit wird Luft als Gemeingut/Commons greifbar und erlebbar gemacht, ein Vernetzungsraum geboten, der Wissen vermittelt und generiert.

„Luft zum Atmen ist der wichtigste Rohstoff der Erde“ „Jeder Atemzug verbindet mich mit der gesamten Welt“ „Ohne Luft überlebt man keine fünf Minuten“, „Tausende Kubikmeter Luft atmet ein Mensch jährlich ein, hunderte Kilogramm Kohlendioxid gibt er ab“ „Der Pavillon produziert Sauerstoff für 1800 Menschen pro Stunde“ „Zwei Jahre bleibt die Luft aus dem Pavillon nun in meinen Lungen. Spätestens dann muss ich nach Österreich“

TEAM.BREATHE.AUSTRIA.
Das interdisziplinäre team.breathe.austria arbeitet großteils in verschiedenen Konstellationen im Rahmen ihrer Lehrtätigkeit an der TU Graz - Institut für Architektur und Landschaft unter der Leitung des Architekten und Landschaftsarchitekten Univ.Prof. Klaus K. Loenhart zusammen. In diesem Kontext befassen sich die Autoren mit den künftigen Prozessen und Konsequenzen realer ökologischer, energetischer, wie auch gesellschaftlicher Wandlung unserer Umwelt. Neben den zu bewältigenden Herausforderungen birgt dieses künftige Szenario das einmalige Potential, den zugehörigen Handlungsraum kreativ zu erschließen um eine neue, eine „kulturelle Ökologie“ zu entwickeln.


daten

Idee/Konzeption - Umsetzungsteam
TEAM.BREATHE.AUSTRIA.
terrain : landscape urbanism BDA, Graz – Univ.Prof. Klaus K. Loenhart
in Kooperation mit
Agency in Biosphere, Graz - Markus Jeschaunig
Hohensinn Architektur, Graz - Karlheinz Boiger
TU Graz Institut für Architektur und Landschaft/ LandLab - Andreas Goritschnig und Bernhard König
Lendlabor, Graz - Anna Resch und Lisa Maria Enzenhofer
und
Ausstellungskonzept: Maren Richter, Linz (u.a. Ko-Kuratorin des Malediven Pavillon/55. Venedig Biennale 2013, Künstlerische Leiterin der Regionale 12)
Klima Design: Transsolar Energietechnik, München – Dr. Wolfgang Kessling (Donau Universität Krems)
Vegetationstechnik: Dr. Bernhard Scharf, Wien (BOKU Institut für Ingenieurbiologie und Landschaftsbau/IBLB)
Tragwerk: Engelsmann Peters Beratende Ingenieure, Graz / Stuttgart Univ.Prof. Stefan Peters (TU Graz - Institut für Tragwerksentwurf)



Idee Konzeption – Wettbewerbsteam (alphabetical order)
TEAM.BREATHE.AUSTRIA.
Agency in Biosphere Markus Jeschaunig
Hohensinn Architektur - Karlheinz Boiger
LandLab /Ia&l TU Graz - Andreas Goritschnig und Bernhard König
Lendlabor- Anna Resch und Lisa Maria Enzenhofer
terrain : landscape urbanism BDA - Klaus K. Loenhart

und

Maren Richter, Engelsmann Peters - Stefan Peters, transsolar - Wolfgang Kessling, BOKU IBLB Bernhard Scharf